The BAFTAs 2020 winners list in full

The BAFTA 2020 winners have been announced, the 2019 lineup of movies was vast in terms of genre and theme. 1917 did well on the night taking home two of the night’s biggest awards, Best Picture, and Best British Film.

RELATED • Captain Marvel 2 is in production – release is set for 2022

Joker, which grossed over $1 billion at the box office had the most nominations, scored wins for Hildur Guđnadóttir for Best Score and Jaoquin Phoenix for Leading Actor. Taika Waititi’s Jojo Rabbit and Bong Joon-ho’s Parasite also won an award.

Check out the full list of BAFTA 2020 winners below:

Best Film

1917 (WINNER)

The Irishman


Once Upon A Time In Hollywood


Outstanding British Film


1917 (WINNER)


For Sama


Sorry We Missed You Ken

The Two Popes

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer

Bait, Mark Jenkin (Writer/director), Kate Byers, Linn Waite (Producers) – WINNER

For Sama, Waad Al-kateab (Director/producer), Edward Watts (Director)

Maiden, Alex Holmes (Director)

Only You, Harry Wootliff (Writer/director)

Retablo, Álvaro Delgado-Aparicio (Writer/director)*


Film Not in the English Language

The Farewell

For Sama

Pain and Glory

Parasite – WINNER

Portrait of a Lady on Fire



American Factory

Apollo 11

Diego Maradona

For Sama – WINNER

The Great Hack


Animated Film


Frozen 2

Klaus – WINNER

A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Toy Story 4



BAFTA 2020

Sam Mendes – 1917 – WINNER

Martin Scorsese – The Irishman

Todd Phillips – Joker

Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Bong Joon-ho – Parasite


Original Screenplay

Booksmart (Susanna Fogel, Emily Halpern, Sarah Haskins, Katie Silberman)

Knives Out (Rian Johnson)

Marriage Story (Noah Baumbach)

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood (Quentin Tarantino)

Parasite (Han Jin Won, Bong Joon-ho) – WINNER


Adapted Screenplay

Jojo Rabbit

The Irishman (Steven Zaillian)

Jojo Rabbit (Taika Waititi) – WINNER

Joker (Todd Phillips, Scott Silver)

Little Women (Greta Gerwig)

The Two Popes (Anthony Mccarten)


Leading Actress

BAFTA 2020

Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose

Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story

Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Charlize Theron – Bombshell

Renée Zellweger – Judy – WINNER


Leading Actor

Joaquin Phoenix BAFTA

Leonardo Dicaprio – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood

Adam Driver – Marriage Story

Taron Egerton – Rocketman

Joaquin Phoenix – Joker – WINNER

Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes


Supporting Actress

Laura Dern BAFTA

Laura Dern – Marriage Story – WINNER

Scarlett Johansson – Jojo Rabbit

Florence Pugh – Little Women

Margot Robbie – Bombshell

Margot Robbie – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood


Supporting Actor

Brad Pitt BAFTAS

Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day In The Neighborhood

Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes

Al Pacino – The Irishman

Joe Pesci – The Irishman

Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – WINNER


Original Score

Hildur Guđnadóttir Joker

1917 – Thomas Newman

Jojo Rabbit – Michael Giacchino

Joker – Hildur Guđnadóttir – WINNER

Little Women – Alexandre Desplat

Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – John Williams



Hildur Guđnadóttir Joker

Joker – Shayna Markowitz – WINNER

Marriage Story – Douglas Aibel, Francine Maisler

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Victoria Thomas

The Personal History Of David Copperfield – Sarah Crowe

The Two Popes – Nina Gold




1917 – Roger Deakins – WINNER

The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto

Joker – Lawrence Sher

Le Mans ’66 – Phedon Papamichael

The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke



Ford v Ferarri Le Mans 66

The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker

Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles

Joker – Jeff Groth

Le Mans ’66 – Andrew Buckland, Michael Mccusker – WINNER

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Fred Raskin


Production Design


1917 – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales – WINNER

The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves

Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopková

Joker – Mark Friedberg, Kris Moran

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh


Costume Design

Little Women Baftas

The Irishman – Christopher Peterson, Sandy Powell

Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo

Judy – Jany Temime

Little Women – Jacqueline Durran – WINNER

Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – Arianne Phillips


Makeup & Hair

Bombshell BAFTAS

1917 – Naomi Donne

Bombshell – Vivian Baker, Kazu Hiro, Anne Morgan – WINNER

Joker – Kay Georgiou, Nicki Ledermann

Judy – Jeremy Woodhead

Rocketman – Lizzie Yianni Georgiou




1917 – Scott Millan, Oliver Tarney, Rachael Tate, Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson – WINNER

Joker – Tod Maitland, Alan Robert Murray, Tom Ozanich, Dean Zupancic

Le Mans ’66 – David Giammarco, Paul Massey, Steven A. Morrow, Donald Sylvester

Rocketman – Matthew Collinge, John Hayes, Mike Prestwood Smith, Danny Sheehan


Special Visual Effects


1917 – Greg Butler, Guillaume Rocheron, Dominic Tuohy – WINNER

Avengers: Endgame – Dan Deleeuw, Dan Sudick

The Irishman – Leandro Estebecorena, Stephane Grabli, Pablo Helman

The Lion King – Andrew R. Jones, Robert Legato, Elliot Newman, Adam Valdez

Star Wars: The Rise Of Skywalker – Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, Neal Scanlan, Dominic Tuohy


British Short Animation

Grandad Was A Romantic 


Grandad Was A Romantic – WINNER

In Her Boots

The Magic Boat



British Short Film




Learning To Skateboard In A Warzone (If You’re A Girl) – WINNER

The Trap


EE Rising Star Award (Voted for by the public)

Micheal Ward Baftas


Jack Lowden

Kaitlyn Dever

Kelvin Harrison Jr.

Micheal Ward – WINNER